Stitching Updates

Hello! I’ve been spending my creative time on stitching, coding, and mixed media lately. I suddenly seem to be hugely motivated coding-wise, and have about a hundred ideas, a few of which I’ve made good progress on. On the stitching side, I’m slowly making my way through SALs. Here are my ongoing projects.

2024 SAL by Cliffside Stitches

I’ve stitched week-6 of this SAL, and am about to start stitching the blackwork pattern of week-7.

Blackwork bands in black interspersed with cross-stich ones in multiple colors on evenweave cloth

For week-8, I’m planning a transition from green to either a lighter green or yellow. I’m afraid both the yellow and the light green might be too light for this fabric, and plan to stitch a bit using both to see which one is more visible. Fingers crossed one of them works.

On the other hand, in the grand scheme of things, the actual visibility of these colors probably doesn’t matter much. The brain is very good at filling in blanks, and I suppose that also extends to foreground colors that mostly match their background. Fingers crossed, I guess.

Changing Seasons (2022 MSAL) by Fox and Rabbit

I’ve started on the large flowers on both sides of my first corner motif.

Partially cross-stitched flower motif in orange on cream-colored Aida cloth
From this on all four corners…
Partially cross-stitched flower motifs in orange and red on cream-colored Aida cloth
… to this.

These are the same flowers at the middle of the edges of this section (here.) I made those in red/pink, and these will be in red/orange. I’m done with the red on all four corners, and have started on the red+orange gradient stitches. I’m enjoying working on this project much more than I did earlier.

Summer is beginning its fiery reign here, and I must admit I’m beginning to find the large fabric irritating to hold. It makes me wonder how I could work on the borders of my Dynamic Squares Throws when I join all the smaller pieces. I’m still on a break from that project, by the way.

Well, however I make it work, you can be sure I’ll let you know. 🙂 Hope you have a wonderfully creative month!

16 thoughts on “Stitching Updates

    1. The colors are definitely a hit or miss, though! I’m just using whatever’s in my stash, so some colors don’t really fit well in a gradient. I’m just happy they’re all getting used. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you! We definitely are our own worst critics. My primary aim for this project is to use up more of my stash, and the colors are working pretty well to serve that purpose, so I’m not actually unhappy.

          That said, I do wish I had more colors with me! Even if that means a larger stash which means more projects to use it up which means I’ll then wish for more colors… 😉

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I made the needle minder (this one and its companion) using polymer clay and a magnet. As usual, my plans to make more have not come to fruition yet. 🙂

      Like

  1. Those stitches on your SAL look so tiny. You must have super steady hands and great eyesight to do such fine delicate work.
    Your Changing Seasons 2022 is coming along well. I like the large flowers.
    A break from projects is a necessary blessing, easpecially large ones during the heat of Summer.
    I look forward to your updates. I wish you a creative month too. 🌞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so grateful to my loupe / magnifier for this project, E.C.! It would be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to work on it otherwise.

      I want to work on the crochet project (once I’ve decided on the joins), but just imagining the yarn touching my already-sweating arms–ugh! Let’s see if I can work on it for short durations in the evenings or something.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Ah, of course! 🙂 I’ll have to choose patterns for that, and right now, I’m only in the mood for no-decisions creative time. I’d love to pick up quilting when my brain is back in decision mode; I have some scrap fabric ready to go!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I commend you on your perseverance and eyesight. I used to do needlepoint and loved it. but I don’t thing I could do this kind of stitching, though. I desperately need new glasses and will be trying to make an appointment for the eye exam because of a dicey family history of optic nerve cancer and macular degeneration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can only work on the banded project because of the magnification from my loupe! The swatch looked cute but the project itself is going to end up kinda small. Still cute, hopefully, but small.

      Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.