Mini Milestones

Hello! Now that my creative mojo is mostly back after my travel, I’ve managed to reach some mini milestones in my projects —

Changing Seasons (2022 MSAL) by Fox and Rabbit

I’ve finished all four corner motifs now, and I’m pleased with the transition of colors in these.

Partially cross-stitched flower motif in orange on cream-colored Aida cloth
From this on all four corners…
Partially cross-stitched flower motif in orange on cream-colored Aida cloth
…. to this.

Next come mirrored flower motifs on both sides of each corner motif. I’ve done these before as the central motifs along the edge areas, but that was definitely ages ago. I’m looking forward to stitching these again!

Dynamic Squares Throws by Susan Heyn

I’ve finished crocheting all the pieces for this project now, hurrah! <Dances a jig.> I’ve not joined them yet, but this is how they’ll come together:

A set of crocheted square- and rectangle-shaped pieces with multiple layered rows and rounds of black, white, gray, and blue colors

I’ll now need to join the pieces, but I still have no idea how to join the pieces and which color of yarn to use for the joins. (The pattern does not have any 1recommendations or hints on joining the pieces.) Techniques that I’ve been checking out involve joining along the chained ‘top’ edge of the crochet stitches. For this project, though, there are quite a few joins along the ‘side’ edge of the stitches. In my experience, these turn out wonky since that’s just how crochet stitch edges are.

I wondered if I’ll need to add a single-crochet border to each piece to neaten up all four sides, then join them using any old technique. I don’t think the finished units would look good if each individual piece has a little border, though; a seamless join appears much better. And also–so much extra work for the single crochet stitches, sigh… So yeah, for now, I’m stuck, and I’ve decided to take a break from this project until I find a viable way.


I’m finding that there’s been a shift in my crafting mode again, and I’m back to enjoying working on a single kind of project for longer periods. This might be a reflection of my overall mental state since my life is settling down after some upheavals, and I’m increasingly able to maintain daily structure and focus. I’d still like to work on more kinds of projects, although with my current mindset, my project switches will probably happen less frequently.

And with that, I take leave of you for now. Hope you have a great weekend!

13 thoughts on “Mini Milestones

    1. Thank you, Regina Mary, and don’t worry about suggestions! I just need a break from the project since I’ve been looking quite a bit into the joins. Seeing that this orderly approach didn’t yield much, I might just need to wing it as well. I can always frog stuff if it doesn’t work out.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yay congratulations on finishing all those squares! The only way I’ve ever joined crochet is the join as you go method in Heidi Bears (and similar) toy patterns. It’s a mix of DC and slipped stitches, but I’m not sure that it’d work here. I look forward to seeing what you decide, in due course!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Carol Anne, I love seeing all of these completed pieces!

      I’ve only used join-as-you-go in the chains-together manner. It’s too late for any as-you-go methods now 🙂 but I suppose it’d be interesting to join an edge to a chain while I add a row in this project. Anyway, I’m hoping I’ll find something sometime. Fingers crossed.

      Like

  2. That’s an interesting point about being able to work on a single project longer when mental health is better. I find that is the same for me. Maybe black will work to stitch your Dynamic Squares together? Black is always good. 🖤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I expect the mind is able to focus better when it feels better. I’m glad I’m back in this state!

      Black is definitely my first choice as well, but I don’t have a lot of that yarn left. The light gray (on the large squares) seems to look good too, plus I’ve not used much of it. I’ll pick one of these colors depending on how much yarn I’ll need to join the pieces. I’m hoping the break will result in something that I like.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on getting your creative mojo mostly back.
    Changing Seasons is looking good.
    Also, congratulations on getting the pieces/squares finished. Your Dynamic Squares Throw is going to be gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. E.C.! I’m so eager to see the finished throws–it hinges on me finding an appropriate joining method when I get back to this project.

      Like

  4. Perhaps the desire to work on one project for prolonged periods reflects an increased ability to concentrate and focus now that your life has settled down again. I remember you moved house a while ago, and it does take time to get settled in and sorted out. I’ll be interested to see how you progress on your SAL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely yes! House, job, health–there was a lot going on for a while; now I’ve recovered and things are settling down, and I’m back to focusing on single projects.

      Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.