Progress on Projects

Hello! Hope you’ve been having a creative time. I’ve made some progress on each of my WIP (work-in-progress) projects, and after my heatwave-related mini break, it’s been satisfying. The rainy weather’s been so good that I really only want to eat pakoras while watching / re-watching all the series, but working on creative projects while listening to audiobooks is probably more satisfying. 🙂

So here’s what I’ve been up to lately in the fiber department of my hobbies –

Dynamic Squares Throws by Susan Heyn

I’ve finished blocking all the component pieces!

Stacks of blocked crochet squares and rectangles consisting of multiple layered rows and rounds of black, white, gray, and blue colors

Now I’ll need to join these components to get 4 units in total. I’m planning on a whip stitch join with a light-gray yarn. (You can see the color on the large squares at the top of the picture, just inside the blue. Apologies about the picture quality though, there’s only so much that cloudy weather permits.) I hope the join turns out well.

2024 SAL by Cliffside Stitches

I’ve added two more sections since last time!

Blackwork bands in black interspersed with cross-stich ones in multiple colors on evenweave cloth

This is the midpoint of the SAL, and my, the blackwork pattern was quite fussy. I’m so glad I managed this just okay.

The actual SAL is now over, and the section charts will be available on the Cliffside Stitches website for a short while before they’re moved to their Etsy shop. Madeleine, the SAL creator, will probably have another SAL coming up soon (though she hasn’t made any announcements yet), and I know I’ll be really tempted to join, but I think this time I’ll stick to my resolve of picking up a purchased project next. I’d like to finish at least one of my current SALs before that. Fingers crossed that’ll happen this year. 😉

And talking about SALs, let’s visit my next project.

Changing Seasons (2022 MSAL) by Fox and Rabbit

I’ve stitched 2 out of 3 gradient areas for the corner stalks!

Partially cross-stitched flower motifs in orange and red on cream-colored Aida cloth

I’ve still got a long way to go on this one, and employing gradients has definitely contributed to the speed at which I finish each section. This is true of both of my current SALs–stitching a fairly-smooth, uniformly symmetrical motif at one go is always faster than splitting it into sometimes-jagged, sometimes-non-uniform parts that are stitched separately. I like the look of the gradients from afar, though, so it’s a choice that I don’t regret.

Recently, my counted-stitch needle somehow ended up developing a micro-hook at its end, and started snagging everywhere. I filed the point to dull it again, and voila! Peaceful, no-swear stitching is back. 🙂

Quilted Cushion Covers

I’m trying to pick fabric for this project from scraps (and potential scraps) that we have. It needs 4 colors ideally, and somehow, I always find only 3 that work well with one another. I tried coloring some pattern blocks to see if I can make do with just 3 colors, but it’s just not the same. Fingers crossed I find 4 colors without needing to buy new fabric.

Alternatively, since this is a is-this-hobby-for-me trial project, maybe I can just pick whatever fabric I have, and just start sewing. The more I look at scraps, the more I’m leaning towards this approach. 😛


Well then, that’s all from me this time, folks. I wish you a creative July!

4 thoughts on “Progress on Projects

    1. I tried out the whip stitch, and it’s not looking bad, so now I’m excited to finish all of the assembly too! (Trying not to think about crocheting the border that comes next, haha…)

      I admit I’m being too fussy with the colors for the covers. You’re right, I’ll just close my eyes and spin a bottle. 🙂 If it turns out really bad, I can just use the covers in a low-visibility area.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Looking forward to seeing those squares stitched together. Grey is an interesting choice and should look good next to the black and blue borders.

    The small SAL has so many different stitches!!! I can imagine black work would be very fussy!!

    Loving the corner on your motif. It’s a very pretty corner. After the corner is done is there a middle to it as well?

    We’ve been very hot as well, we are not generally in the 90s F this early in the year, this is generally our late July and August weather and the humidity is ugly too. Thanks goodness for Air Conditioning!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The gray is working well, and that’s such a relief!

      The corners do have middles! I think you mean the interconnecting motifs between these corners and the ‘actual middles’? I’m already done with the actual middles here, and you guessed right, I’ll start on the interconnecting motifs after the corners. So much work, but it looks so pretty!

      Humidity kicks in all the time here as well, and gets annoying when the amount of rain reduces. Hope your summers don’t get too hot this year!! Air conditioning now brings with it sky-high electricity bills due to some recent billing structure changes, so we now use coolers at home. I just wish I’d switched before my heat rash worsened. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.