Bamboo eyelet cardigan begins

My Fair Cardi is now deemed to be a morning / midday project, since the black color of the yarn is not very work-friendly in the ambient light of evenings. As a result, its progress has slowed down. Looks like my sister has a bit of a wait ahead for her cardigan. Either that or I’ll have to use up a few vacation days. 🙂

My evening project is now a cardigan that I’m making from yarn that I originally bought to make a top. Could yarn shortage be a problem? Nah! I’m using a large gauge, since I’d like the sweater to be airy without incorporating lace or eyelets.

Well, that’s not entirely true. I wanted a column of some pattern for the back of this cardigan. Bamboo eyelet was one of the earliest eyelet patterns I looked up, and I used that here. I modified the position of the eyelets to make them move around a bit. So essentially, though it doesn’t look like bamboo anymore, I’m still calling it bamboo eyelet cardigan.

Bamboo eyelet cardigan - progress

I’m mostly done knitting the back, and consequently, with the bamboo eyelet pattern too. The front and sleeves are plain stockinette, and since I consider that boring, I hope I finish the pieces soon. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Bamboo eyelet cardigan begins

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

