Waves

It’s finished! πŸ™‚

Waves cardigan / blouse

Waves cardigan / blouse

I did finish the entire cardigan using just the yarn at hand, and didn’t have to resort to threads or other ‘binding’ materials to attach parts to other parts. Victory! There was even yarn available to sew on the buttons! I have a half a meter of yarn left when handing over the finished sweater to my mom.

The cardigan was definitely different than what my mom expected, but that’s the reaction we’ve come to expect of her. πŸ™‚ She wears it early morning when it’s chilly, and she likes that it fits her and looks good on her and keeps her warm. πŸ™‚

The 1×1 cable stitches I used are:

c1b: sl 1 st to CN and hold in back, k1 from LH needle, p1 from CN.
c1f: sl 1 st to CN and hold in front, p1 from LH needle, k1 from CN.

The wavy pattern is a 16-row repeat, with multiples of 4 stitches.

Row 1 (RS): *p2, c1b. Repeat from *.
Row 2 and all even rows: knit the knit sts and purl the purl sts.
Row 3: *p1, c1b, p1. Repeat from *.
Row 5: *c1b, p2. Repeat from *.
Row 7: *k1, p3. Repeat from *.
Row 9: *c1f, p2. Repeat from *.
Row 11: *p1, c1f, p1. Repeat from *.
Row 13: *p2, c1f. Repeat from *.
Row 15: *p3, k1. Repeat from *.

I used seed stitch for the button band. No extra borders at the cuffs or hip, because they were tubular cast on stitches. I used mattress stitch to convert the flat-knitted sleeve to a tube, and used the same mattress stitch principles to attach the sleeve to the body.

Now I’m figuring out a pattern to use in a cardigan for my sis. She wants some eyelets / lace but not too much, and once we’ve decided on a design, it’s gonna be time to knit again. I’m hoping that this project will have better pacing than the one I just finished.

12 thoughts on “Waves

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

