Runner progress

Still cross-stitching, no knitting. I’m making good progress on the coffee table runner. This is how a single motif looks, and I’ll have three of them across the runner.

Runner - progress

I came up with this pattern inspired by a Pinterest pin for biscornu (which, since a long time, leads to a site under maintenance though) and a super-simple dots-and-curves Rangoli that I gave a Celtic look to. (Here on Pinterest are some dots-and-curves Rangolis of higher intricacy.) This combination might appear weird πŸ™‚ but for me, it is a happy combination of two different styles and looks, and best of all, it seems to work.

One thing I didn’t count on was how confusing working on this pattern would be. I’ve made umpteen mistakes already, and ended up correcting them (or just letting them be because they won’t be noticeable much.) This is definitely not a binge-watch project, though that’s how I’ve been working on it. I really should be thankful for the rewind button so I can catch the dialogue or action that I missed while I became absorbed in the stitch count — or worse, realized that I’ve made a mistake yet again and tried to figure out how many stitches I’ll have to undo. πŸ˜›

I’m having a lot of fun with this runner, though, and seeing my stitching quality improve as I work is a bonus. πŸ™‚ It’s a welcome break from knitting, and I think I’ll attempt a cross-stitch project now and then when I’m done with this one — maybe a runner, maybe something smaller.

11 thoughts on “Runner progress

  1. I so wish that someone invented the rewind button for whatever crafty thing we’re working on… without frogging πŸ˜‰
    I really like this runner, and despite all the Celtic elements and Rangoli it actually makes me think of home a bit… it reminds me of Slavic embroidery, especially Ukrainian type, but also one regional Polish embroidery technique. Mostly because of the red thread on a white fabric looking a bit like linen (the design itself is different of course).
    Good job, I’m very eager to see the finished runner!

    Liked by 4 people

    • I think I know what you mean when you mention Ukrainian and Polish embroidery techniques… Are these considered folk (or traditional) patterns? As I’ve started pinning more and more cross-stitch, I’ve been seeing these folk patterns with red and blue stitches on white background, and I just love them!
      And yes, there were so many times I wished the wrong stitches would magically come undone! (Or better still, stop me from making them wrong in the first place. πŸ˜€ ) Maybe it’ll be better with a better pattern. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, they are folk traditional patterns. Red on white is mainly Ukraine and Russia and just a small region in Poland, and then each region has a very unique style. Some are very flowery, others less so.
        As for mistakes… I’ve frogged about 5 times today already, either because of mistakes or because I decided to change the hook size so I have no hope for not making mistakes ever again. I think the invention of the rewinding tool is more likely πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

