Bubblewrap

Yeah, that’s what I’m gonna call the cardigan that I knit for my friend, KG. Did I mention it’s done? ^_^ I gave the cardigan to her this week, and she likes it, hurrah! [Sigh of relief] The colors look nice together, don’t they?

Bubblewrap cardigan

In the past few weeks, I managed to knit quite a bit, spurred on by the fact (or fear? πŸ™‚ ) that KG’s vacation is fast approaching, and that I’d promised to knit her this sweater for the vacation… I finally cast off this Sunday, blocked the garment and weaved in the ends. KG had no idea how the cardigan would look, and I was hoping it wouldn’t be a shock to her when she finally saw it. This whole secrecy was a first for me too, because I usually make my ‘customers’ (my mom and my sis so far — and of course, yours truly too πŸ˜‰ ) wear the project-in-progress now and then to check that things are fine, and course-correct if necessary. It was only when my course corrections reduced to almost-zero levels that I decided to knit one for KG. (She’d been pestering me for a while.) Still, I was apprehensive until the very end about how it would fit her and whether she would like it, and it really was a huge relief that it looks okay and more importantly, that she seems happy with it. And I too am happy that my stranded knitting has improved much.

Bubblewrap cardigan

Thanks, KG, for lending me this photo! πŸ™‚

Now that this sweater’s done, I’m back on the shawl that I started for my mom, and it’s coming along nicely. I’m following the Ashton shawlette pattern — this pattern has a few types of lace designs, and it’s helped me understand the workings of lace a bit more. Alright! The next pattern I come up with will be a lacy pattern! πŸ˜› (And I made a stitch marker for this project! I made quite a few of them actually, and I’ll talk about them in my jewelry blog soon, but here’s this marker hard at work. πŸ˜‰ )

Ashton shawlette with Stitch marker

The next step for me is writing a pattern. I’ve been thinking and talking about it, but haven’t really done anything on it that I can call progress. I’ve seen a lot of patterns by now, and I’m pretty sure I can come up with one.

7 thoughts on “Bubblewrap

  1. KG not just likes it, she loves it πŸ™‚
    I know I haven’t pestered anyone as I have pestered you for this but that is because I knew that this is my only chance to have a cardigan knit by you (and I have been pestering you since Spain) πŸ˜›
    Thank you once again so much for this wonderful cardigan Anita.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The bottom of the sweater really does look like bubble wrap! Very nice sweater and it looks like it fits your friend just perfectly. You shawl is looking beautiful. The colors are very sweet and summery. That stitch marker is beautiful, too. I never thought about making them. Will have to check them out closer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much, Ginny!
      I’d bought the shawl’s yarn for a different project but my mom loved the colors and I decided on a shawl for her instead! πŸ™‚
      And yes, this is the first set of stitch markers I made as well! Strange how we never thought of them before! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

