Lemony shawl

It’s Lemony because of the beautiful bright-yellow color of the yarn. I started this project because I wanted something different to do while I was trying to finish other projects. πŸ˜€ Some of those other projects are still not done, but this wrap finished up pretty quickly.

Lemony shawl

I first started with the top-down approach without any pattern in mind, working short rows coupled with increases until I reached a decent height, and bound off, only to realize that the yarn is pretty heavy, and it stretched the shawl so much that it looked like I was wearing a python. :-/ So I frogged it and started afresh, this time quite narrower.

I still wanted to stick to the top-down construction, and started off with a simple lace pattern at the top. This time, I thought of looking for some inspiration for a lacy bottom edging that I could play with. I’ve mentioned before that I’m not great at designing with eyelets and laces, and I thought I could practice a bit now. I came across the Annis shawl pattern by Susanna IC on Ravelry. The instructions were for a bottom-up shawl, though, so I thought this is my chance to try to convert it to a top-down one and see if it looks the same. I tried and tried with quite a few combinations of yo, k2tog and ssk, but it never really looked the same. Sigh! I’d had enough of searching and experimenting, and just picked the best-looking one from amongst my tries — I had already made much of the shawl and didn’t want to frog it all over again to restart it bottom-up.

Though it doesn’t look anything like the Annis shawl πŸ˜€ I’m still happy because (a) it doesn’t look half-bad, and (b) I learned quite a lot about eyelets from those experiments. It’s at least got me interested in experimenting with more lacy patterns to understand them better. There’s also more to pointy ends than I have read about — they didn’t come up right even after blocking, and have receded back into the body now…

Meanwhile…

My friend KG has asked me to knit a sweater for her. I’ve not worked on a large project for someone who’s not immediate family, but thought I could see how it goes. I haven’t blogged about the sweater’s progress, though, and KG checked with me last week about it. She’s given me a deadline, you see… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ Now that most of the difficult initial work — thinking of a pattern, swatching, designing parts from reference measurements — is done, the actual knitting is coming along… slowly. I don’t do things for long periods these days because my eyes feel the strain and fatigue at times — my day job also involves staring at a computer screen most of the time.

I like the color of KG’s choice of yarn. (Lavender? Lilac? I’ll just call it some kind of blue.) There’s also one ball of white yarn for some stranded colorwork. And hello, the background polka dots in the picture are also blue-on-white… Coincidence? πŸ™‚

Lavender cardigan

I don’t want to post too many photos of this sweater and spoil the surprise (or shock?) for KG, though, so I still won’t be blogging much about it until she’s seen it. Take note, KG! πŸ˜›

16 thoughts on “Lemony shawl

  1. πŸ˜† Thank you so much Anita (Gee…couldn’t stop laughing for a while) πŸ™‚ You know when I saw the first photograph and the paragraphs explaining it, I was like….She was supposed to do mine 😦 and then when I read the whole article, I was so glad…Thank you for the update, dear πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Books, Music, Photography, & Movies and commented:
    After some consistent pestering and convincing, Anita finally kindly agreed to knit a sweater for me. I have always liked her work and wanted to get one done by her. I am so glad that it is coming along so well. Thank you so much for the updates, Anita πŸ™‚
    And that color is awesome isn’t ? Am already excited to see the final product.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your lemony shawl is beautiful! Beautiful patterns on the edges. Very nice! I am working on my very first shawl myself. It is from a pattern, though and I am not doing so well with it. So far I have frogged it 3 times and have knitted back more rows than I can count. I am blaming my hurt back πŸ˜‰ I am giving it one more go πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thanks a lot for liking the shawl, Ginny!
      Yes, please don’t give up on your shawl yet! I know how painful frogging is πŸ˜€ but I love it when I finally have a finished object! I hope you’ll post about the shawl when you’re done.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Rupali. I’d like to see how your scarf has come out!
      Tell me about ending projects – especially larger ones! I guess that’s why we have multiple projects going on simultaneously. πŸ™‚

      Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

